Daniel van der Velden on Fri, 16 Apr 2010 21:43:00 +0200 (CEST)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

[Nettime-nl] 27 April book launch Uncorporate Identity, updated programme

updated programme

Tuesday April 27, 2010
8 PM
Uncorporate Identity
Symposium & Book Launch
De Verdieping

Lars Müller, John Morgan, Brave New Alps, Wouter Vanstiphout,
Marina Vishmidt, Metahaven, Huib Haye van der Werf
DJ Stabilo Boss/Laurenz Brunner

A small symposium will accompany the book launch of Uncorporate Identity by Metahaven. Swiss publisher Lars Müller, London-based design collective Brave New Alps, British designer John Morgan, and architecture historian and urbanist Wouter Vanstiphout will join the debate, together with theorist Marina Vishmidt and designers Vinca Kruk and Daniel van der Velden of Metahaven. In a series of provocative short lectures, the speakers will react to the book and its overall theme. The event is chaired by curator Huib Haye van der Werf. Music is provided by Laurenz Brunner. A compendium of ideas and a source for debate, Uncorporate Identity is an ambitious collection of design projects around visual identity and politics. It presents the visual projects and writings of design studio Metahaven along with a host of contributing writers. Organized as a sequence of five chapters, each comprising case studies, notes and essays, it explores, visually and textually, the paradoxes of identity in a networked world.

Uncorporate Identity will be for sale at a discount price of 35 euro.

Free entrance
For reservations, e-mail Judith Lindekens

Tuesday April 27, 2010
8 PM
Programme starts at 8:30 PM

De Verdieping
Wibautstraat 127
1091 GL Amsterdam
t +31 (0)20 4637788

Uncorporate Identity
Lars Müller Publishers, 2010
608 pages, softcover

Edited by Metahaven (Daniel van der Velden and Vinca Kruk) with Marina Vishmidt. Contributions by Boris Groys, David Singh Grewal, Vladimir Kolossov, Keller Easterling, Dieter Lesage, China Miéville, Chantal Mouffe, Pier Vittorio Aureli, Bruno Besana, Michael Taussig, Regula Stämpfli, Mihnea Mircan, Florian Schneider, Marina Vishmidt, and others. Made possible with the generous support of the Mondriaan Foundation, the Jan van Eyck Academie and the Desearch Foundation Amsterdam. Co- published by the Jan van Eyck Academie.

Book launch organized by the Jan van Eyck Academie.

Supported by De Verdieping and TrouwAmsterdam.

* Verspreid via nettime-nl. Commercieel gebruik niet
* toegestaan zonder toestemming. <nettime-nl> is een
* open en ongemodereerde mailinglist over net-kritiek.
* Meer info, archief & anderstalige edities:
* http://www.nettime.org/.
* Contact: Menno Grootveld (rabotnik@xs4all.nl).