Geert Lovink on Fri, 24 Oct 2014 09:32:35 +0200 (CEST)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

<nettime-ann> Rab-Rab: journal for political and formal inquiries in art

Welcome to the launch of the first issue of Rab-Rab: journal for political and formal inquiries in art. We will present the idea behind the
publication and also we will discuss the process of preparing the first issue.

The first issue of the journal is loosely dealing with the problems of language; bringing together a range of texts proposing different artistic positions on political and formal implications related to communication, coding, grammar, syntax, mathematics, translation, signs and traces. 

By insisting on the heuristic possibility of art practice we intend to use Rab-Rab as a platform for debates and discussions which takes art practice as starting point but aims to go beyond of it's institutional frame.

Most of the texts in the journal are written by artists or they are produced in constellation of specific artistic practice.  
Hoping that the launch of the first issue of Rab-Rab, which will be accompanied by live music and a chess club, is also an opportunity for meeting with people who would like to join us in this endeavor.

For us Rab-Rab represents the possibility of non-institutional and independent engagement with art. We are happy to share with you our experiences in realization of this journal and to present our future plans.

Launch of the journal will take place in Vapaan Taiteen Tila, from 18:00 to 22:00 on 24. October, Friday. The website of Vapaan Taiteen Tila:


Rab-Rab: journal for political and formal inquiries in art

Publisher: Rab-Rab Press. Helsinki 2014. 292 pages. Price: 8 euros.

Edited by Sezgin Boynik and Gregoire Rousseau

Designed by: Nicolas Schevin (El-Sphere)

Contributors: Diego Bruno, Michel Chevalier, Marcel Dickhage, Minna Henriksson, Vladan Jeremic, Shinji Kanki, Susan Kelly, Gal Kirn, Kalle Lampela, David Muoz, Rena Rädle, John Roberts, Cathleen Schuster, Niloufar Tajeri, Manuela Unverdorben, Eetu Viren, Gioanna Esposito Yussif, Gregoire Rousseau, Sezgin Boynik.

nettime-ann mailing list